typhoon kalmaegi brushes past nanning

Tuesday, September 16:  Today, high winds are blowing across our little campus and neatly sweeping away the heat and humidity.  We’ve had some sudden bursts of rain, and more is forecast.  This has encouraged the dust to settle down a bit, and has beckoned me to open my windows.  Outside, the weeping willow trees across the pond are billowing and the trees outside my window are dancing with gusto.  I love the gushes of wind and the shushing of the trees.

dancing weeping willow

dancing weeping willow

Typhoon Kalmaegi, the Korean word for seagull, is coming to town. Or at least it’s passing by on its way to somewhere else.  As I’m already tired of the heat and humidity, I’m thrilled to experience this bit of climate change.

Here’s Tuesday’s news about the Typhoon: Typhoon Kalmaegi Kills 10 in the Philippines; Hong Kong Braces for Brush with Storm

I’m oblivious to the fact that this storm is Typhoon Kalmaegi until I get this letter, addressed to all the teachers, from the university today.

storm clouds brewing

storm clouds brewing

As Typhoon Kalmaegi is coming, it is probably that there will be continuous strong rainfall as well as windstorm in these days. We kindly remind you that when Typhoon Usagi comes, please be aware of the following things:

First of all, strong winds may blow down buildings and installations in high places, causing casualties or even deaths. Therefore, do not take shelter from rain near temporary constructions, billboards and towers. If you have a car, avoid driving in areas influenced by strong wind. Remove flowerpots and things hanging outside your apartment. Check your windows and doors and fasten them if necessary. Check the circuit inside your room. Pay attention to the prevention of fire. Do not use computer when there are thunder and lightning.

Second of all, please prepare a torch, a radio, some food, drinking water and some necessary medicine if you think it is necessary. Clean pipelines timely so as to keep the drainage system inside your room unobstructed.

flowers in the breeze

flowers in the breeze

Thirdly, when typhoon comes, stop all activities outside, and stay at your apartment. If you have to walk outside, you have to wear waterproof shoes and tight, formfitting clothes. Button up your clothes or have them fastened with belts in order to minimize your body area exposed to the wind. Wear a raincoat or, if necessary, a helmet when you go into the rain. When you walk into the storm, you should walk slowly and do not try to “run before the wind”. You should absolutely not running along the direction of the wind, or else you will find it very difficult to stop—you even have the danger to be blown away. Try your best to grab a fence, a pillar or anything that is well fastened. Be aware of things following down. When you are turning a corner, you should take a pause and observe nearby environment. When you are crossing a narrow bridge when there is a strong wind, try to crawl instead of walk in case you will be blown away of fall into the water. Do not step into water, especially inside the campus. If you have to, be aware of the depth of the water.

Sometimes there will be power cut during the hitting of typhoon. If so, please calm down. 

Three of us calm down sufficiently to walk to a BBQ dinner on a street quite a distance from campus.  Our trek there is uneventful, but as we leave the restaurant, the sky opens up.  We attempt to dodge the downpour by dipping in shop doors and stopping for shelter in an ice cream shop, where of course we have to sample the goods.  Nonetheless, we are drenched to our cores by the time we get home.  It certainly is an adventure. 🙂

The typhoon is not hitting us directly here in Nanning.  It’s just passing through on its way to some distant locale, and we’re feeling its repercussions, much like folks who live inland in Virginia do when hurricanes hit the East Coast of the USA.  The coastal areas get hit hard, while those inland just get strong winds, a downpour or two, and possibly some flooding.

It’s really not that bad, but as we travel on foot or by bicycle, it does make for an inconvenience.

Wednesday, September 17: More bursts of rain, especially this morning. I was glad I didn’t have to go out in it, because the trees and sky looked violently angry, shaking their weeping willow and palm frond hair as if they were at a wild dance party.  I had a very lazy morning reading Travels with Charley and plotting where to go in China when I get a holiday.

Speaking of holidays, we have a week off for the National Day of the People’s Republic of China from October 1-7.  It’s much too soon for a holiday as we’re just getting underway with our classes.  Plus we hardly have any money because we’ll have received only one paycheck by then.  On top of that, three of us new teachers had to go to the police station today to take our passports, along with results of our medical exam and other paperwork, to apply for our residence permits.  We are told we won’t get our passports back until October 13!  That means that travel outside of China is impossible.  It also means there will be difficulties traveling within China, as hotels generally require a passport.  The police assured me I could use the stamped receipt, which hotels are obligated to honor.  I sure hope so, because I’d hate to take a train somewhere and then be refused admittance to all hotels.  I can envision myself squatting on a street corner with my suitcase, waiting until I can catch another train home.

This evening, a group of us teachers go out for dumplings.  While we’re warm and dry in the restaurant, enjoying a huge spread of dishes, we hear a roar as the rain clouds let loose.  Walking home, we wade through puddles up to our ankles.  Luckily the downpour has ended, but our feet and legs are soaked.

Tonight, I chat with Mike by Skype and he tells me that fall is in the air there, with temperatures dropping to 55 F.  I’m so envious!  If I go abroad again after this year, I simply must find a northern clime, with four distinct seasons. These hot climates really don’t suit my personality.

Thursday, September 18:  This morning, it seems the typhoon has passed.  We attend a teachers’ meeting, slicing our way through thick humid air.  I thought the typhoon would clear out the moisture, but it’s only made it worse.  

Later this afternoon, we’re hit with another downpour.  I’ve been hunkering down inside, tired of getting drenched every time I go out.  Now, as I sit in my apartment looking over the pond, I believe I can see some blue skies in the last waning light before sundown.  I’m ready now for this typhoon to move along and leave us in relative peace.

 

Categories: Asia, China, Chinese BBQ, Chinese food, Dumplings, Expat life, Guangxi University, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Nanning, Typhoon Kalmaegi | Tags: , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “typhoon kalmaegi brushes past nanning

  1. Adventures are only adventures if they don’t outlast their welcome. Now you can say you’ve experienced a typhoon!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • You’re so right, Carol. I like that! Yes, I have experienced a typhoon now, for the first time in my life! This is still typhoon season, so maybe more will come. 🙂

      Like

  2. I like the Chinese way of thinking – a week’s holiday to celebrate a National DAY! Wonder if it could work here? Let’s hope you don’t experience a typhoon hitting your area for real!

    Like

    • Yes, I like that too, Jude. I didn’t mention however that I have to work the Sunday before the holiday and the Saturday after the holiday to make up for some of the missed days! They get you one way or the other. I hope we don’t get a typhoon hit head-on, but since we’re not on the coast, I doubt it could be really serious (but who knows!)

      Like

  3. A thunder storm and heavy rain woke me at 5.30 this morning and I hat rain so I feel for you. I love the warning letter 🙂 stay safe.

    Like

    • Sorry about your rain, Gilly. It looks like a dreary day on this Saturday morning too, and I was hoping to go on an excursion. Not sure if I’ll be able to, sadly.

      I thought that warning letter was awfully cute! It should be fun reading my students’ essays. 🙂

      Like

  4. Here we are in fear and trembling for you Cathy, and you’re treating it like a huge adventure. 🙂 🙂 Just a bit OTT those instructions but I guess in that part of the world it’s a very serious subject.
    The big lead photo hasn’t loaded for me. Is that anything to do with the typhoon?
    Take care, Cathy 🙂

    Like

    • Hey Jo, it’s all over now, and I think it did help to ease the weather a bit. Today was the first nice day I’ve had since I got here; the humidity was only 46%, though it was still 88 F.

      I liked those instructions because of the English! It’s very cute to read the way Chinese write English. 🙂

      I don’t know why the lead photo isn’t loading. You mean the one with the Monkey King, the header? Is it loading now?

      I hope all is well with you. I’ll be by to visit soon. xxx

      Like

      • Must be the header Cathy, because it’s big and I have no idea what it is. Probably just my archaic Microsoft 7 but I have your new post 🙂

        Like

      • Weird, Jo, about you not being able to see my header of the Monkey King statue (with Pigman and some others following behind). I wonder if everyone has trouble seeing it or just you. I can see it myself. Very strange indeed. 🙂

        Like

  5. I will remember not to run with the wind when the next typhoon hits 🙂 So glad you were just on the outskirts of the storm… oh, I can’t see your header either…

    Like

    • Aren’t those instructions so cute, Annette? I love how they talk about how we might blow away in the wind. Oh dear, wonder what’s wrong with my header. I just asked Mike to check if he can see it. Very strange indeed. I can see it from my end. It’s a picture of a big statue of the Monkey King and Pig man. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved the typhoon advice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renateflynn.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

Travel Much?

Never cease to explore and tell!

