returning from daxin to nanning & a surprise cake delivery

Sunday, October 26:  I have to catch the three-wheeled taxi to the Daxin bus station this morning for the 9:00 bus to Nanning.  I don’t eat any breakfast or drink anything again because I don’t know if the bus will make any stops for bathroom breaks along the way.  I flag down the taxi on the street and ask the for the bus station in Chinese and the taxi driver seems to understand.  Success!

Here’s my view out the back of the three-wheeled taxi.  As you can see, it’s actually a sunny day today with some blue skies and white fluffy clouds.  Too bad it wasn’t like this yesterday while I was at the waterfall!  Sadly, we can’t always choose our weather when we’re traveling.

view of Daxin from the back of the three-wheel taxi

view of Daxin from the back of the three-wheel taxi

And here’s my view over the taxi driver’s shoulder.

looking over the shoulder of the three-wheeled taxi driver

looking over the shoulder of the three-wheeled taxi driver

The bus station in Daxin is quite nice as far as bus stations go.  I’m surprised to find it nicer and newer than the train stations in either Nanning or Guilin.

Daxin Bus Station

Daxin Bus Station

I found it strange that my ticket to Nanning was only 52 yuan, while the ticket FROM Nanning TO Daxin was 74.  It made me question whether the bus ride was DIRECT to Nanning or one that makes a million stops along the way to pick up local passengers.  After I bought the ticket last evening, I had texted a photo of the ticket to Angela to have her confirm it was direct.   She said it was.

Soon after we get underway at 9:00, the bus makes a stop to pick up a bag of merchandise, which the driver puts in the compartment under the bus.

Within another 10 minutes, we stop to pick up some more passengers.  Uh-oh.  It’s quite a long stop, about 10 minutes, as we sit doing I don’t know what.  Some woman has gotten on the bus with a receipt book and is questioning various people.

Soon after that, we make ANOTHER stop where some kind of official-looking fellows in blue shirts walk up and down the aisles, checking out the passengers. At this third stop, within a half hour on what is supposed to be a DIRECT bus ride, I can’t help but call Angela to question the bus driver.  He confirms to her that it is a direct bus, but it had to stop for an inspection to make sure the number of the people on the bus didn’t exceed a certain number.  He didn’t address the other two stops.  He says the bus is due to arrive in Nanning at 12:30.  So the bus ride TO Nanning will be 3 1/2 hours, while the ride TO Daxin from Nanning was only 3 hours.  Hmmm.

After the bus driver talks to Angela, he doesn’t make any more stops to pick up passengers.  Thank goodness.  It would be a VERY long ride back to Nanning if he continued to do this.

I sit back and relax and enjoy the scenery out the window.  It’s beautiful.  I attempt to take a few shots of the rice and sugar cane fields and the karst landscape out the bus window with my iPhone.  Not great pictures, but you can get an idea of what I see.

Karst landscape out the bus window

Karst landscape out the bus window

flowering trees and farmland

flowering trees and farmland

out the bus window

out the bus window

karst and farmhouses

karst and farmhouses

rice fields

rice fields

During the bus ride, I’m getting more text messages from Lacey about the birthday cake delivery.  She tells me she’s figured out where I live.  She asks if she can bring the cake on Monday at the 20 minute break between my classes.  I tell her I’d prefer she bring it AFTER my classes end, at noon.  We agree on that time.

I also continue to get happy birthday text messages from a few of my student stragglers.

At 11:00, I’m happily surprised when the bus stops for a bathroom break at a highway rest area.  So maybe buses don’t stop for a three-hour trip but they stop if the trip is 3 1/2 hours or more!

I arrive in Nanning as planned at 12:30.  I take the 76 bus back to the university front gate.  I’m happy to be back home after that challenging journey.  Late in the afternoon, after I’m all settled in for the evening, I put on my pajamas and start looking through my pictures.

At 7:30 p.m. I get a phone call from Lacey.  “We’re here at your apartment with the cake!”  I say, “I’m in my pajamas!  I thought you were bringing the cake Monday after my class.”

I go out to the door and welcome them in.  They have a huge cake!!  They ask if they can take pictures.  I tell them I’d prefer they didn’t since I’m in my pajamas!!  It’s really awkward because after all those text messages and our final agreement that she’d bring the cake on Monday, I wasn’t at all expecting a delivery by three students, two girls and a boy, at my home while I’m sitting around in my pajamas!!

Monday, October 27: Today I invite my colleagues in the Experimental Building to come by my apartment for a piece of cake if they feel like it.  My friend Erica takes some pictures of me with the cake before I cut into it.  As you can see, it’s enough for an army!

Me with the cake box

Me with the cake box

I get her to take one picture of me sitting on the new Chinese bedding I bought myself for my birthday. 🙂

You can see the new Chinese bedding I bought for myself for my birthday

You can see the new Chinese bedding I bought for myself for my birthday

Here’s the cake.  Notice the tomato off center.  The Chinese consider tomato a fruit, which it is of course, and they add it to their fruit cakes.

The birthday cake!  Notice the tomato in the middle!

The birthday cake. Notice the tomato near the center.

Later in the afternoon, several other people come by to share the cake.  Here’s my friend Gavin.

Gavin helps me eat the cake!

Gavin helps me eat the cake!

On top of the visitors coming by to share my cake, the university also decided to replace many of the teachers’ computers and televisions.  I had one of those ancient box-like TVs that barely worked, and my computer didn’t work at all.  This afternoon, Chen, our man on the ground, brought me a brand new Sony flat-screen TV and a new Lenovo flat screen computer that works!  (I’ve been using my Mac since I got here.)  Even though of course these things belong to the university, they’re mine to use for this year.

I’d say overall it’s been a pretty memorable birthday for my last celebration before I hit the big 6-0.  One more year to go!

Categories: Asia, China, Daxin, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Nanning, Travel, Xi Xiang Coach Station | Tags: , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “returning from daxin to nanning & a surprise cake delivery

  1. You are an incredible blog writer, Kat. Always so interesting or is it just that I love travel and the ogues too. I wonder what your driver was called…… Dash ? Stop ? Laughing here again.

    A tomato on a cake? Hm that definitely isn’t my scene. Kat, that was incredibly kind of the students to buy that cake for you. How was it?

    Like

    • Wow, you’re so nice to say that, Dai. That really means a lot to me! I wonder if the driver did have a funny English name, but probably not. The students just pick them for English class, but they wouldn’t bother to create such a name for regular life! Dash or Stop would be good ones for this guy! 🙂

      Of all the people who have taken a slice of this cake, none have wanted the tomato. Not surprising at all, is it? It was really sweet of them to buy me this cake. It was just so funny how many text messages it took to arrange the delivery, and then they didn’t even bother to stick to the arrangement. It was pretty good cake, though I prefer soft fluffy chocolate cakes to this kind of commercial vanilla cake.

      I feel like it’s a bottomless cake as no matter how many slices I give away, I still have a big chunk left. I really don’t want to eat anymore, so unless someone wants the rest, I’ll probably have to toss it out. It is getting a little old now. 🙂

      Like

      • Well if I was there, you wouldn’t be throwing out any cake NOR would it have a chance to get old

        Like

      • Maybe I should ship it to you in a box!! I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, Dai. Now if someone gave me a plate of crackers and cheese, I’d polish that off within an hour! And I’d be looking around for more. Especially with some red wine. 🙂

        Like

      • Well I’m that way with cheese and crackers too. Missing English cheddar cheese

        Like

      • I miss all cheese, Dai. I’ve hardly found any since I arrived in China. English cheddar sounds great right now. 🙂

        Like

      • The only really decent cheese I’ve found here is imported and FAR too expensive for us, Kat. Lots of yak cheese here but it’s much too strong for me. We don’t like Nepalese cheddar so we all eat processed cheddar from India. It’s canned but at least I like the taste. I often bring about a kilo of English/Canadian/New Zealand cheddar back with me when I go to Bournemouth. I buy two blocks of half a kilo each and carry it in my jacket pockets to save my very precious weight allowance.

        Like

      • I’ll look forward to returning to America for the cheese and the weather. And my family of course. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Is this WordPress Messenger ? Feels like it this morning.

    Like

    • Haha, yes it feels like Messenger this morning. It just so happens that Thursdays are leisurely mornings for me, Dai. I have class from 2:40-5:00 on Thursdays. The rest of the week I have early classes so don’t have time to sit around and chat. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great to chat to you this morning, Kat. Now I have to have a bucket shower in a freezing cold bathroom. Then we’re off to the city… to several places. Talk to you later, Kat.

    Like

  4. A successful weekend with a perfect ending – sunshine and cake and friends.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Megadiverse Piedmont

Farming an acre in the Upper Wolf Island Creek subwatershed in the Roanoke River basin.

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

John SterVens' Tales

Thee Life, Thee Heart, Thee Tears

Set SerenDestiny in Motion

"Lead the Life You're Meant to Live"

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

