a walk to “seven stars with moon” & return to ping’an

Thursday, November 20: My Zhuang guide and I continue along the trail around the rim of the rice terraces, and my back is hurting the whole time.  I periodically stop to stretch in different directions, and she continues to rub the small of my back when I bend over.

You may wonder why I don’t mention my wonderful guide by name.  To be honest, she tells me her name, but I don’t quite understand her, and then of course I forget it as soon as she tells me.  I don’t know why but Chinese is still just as unintelligible to me as it was on the first day I got here.  I have learned a few words, but only to get by.  And even though I’ve been taking Chinese classes for one hour once a week, all we’ve learned so far is Pinyin and the tones and sounds, which I have great difficulty with.  I can’t even differentiate some of the sounds.  My attempts to learn Chinese give me a lot of sympathy for my poor Chinese students who are trying to learn English.  The two languages are about as far from each other as two languages can be!

As she walks ahead of me on the trail, my guide keeps pulling at the ferns growing along the hillside and plucking them off and dropping them on the path.   It’s almost like Hansel and Gretel leaving a trail of breadcrumbs.

terraces on the way to Seven Stars with the Moon

terraces on the way to Seven Stars with the Moon

pretty fall colors

pretty fall colors

wheelbarrow

wheelbarrow

terraces

terraces and the village of Ping’An

Viewpoint 2: Seven Stars with Moon

Viewpoint 2: Seven Stars with Moon

Seven Stars with Moon

Seven Stars with Moon

Seven Stars with Moon

Seven Stars with Moon

Rices terraces

Rice terraces

view from Seven Stars with Moon to Ping'An Village

view from Seven Stars with Moon to Ping’An Village

ornamental grasses and terraces

ornamental grasses and terraces

path along the terraces

path along the terraces

wildflower

wildflower

my Zhuang guide and her little bouquet

my Zhuang guide and her little bouquet

At one point, we reach a horseshoe-shaped arrangement of shops where there is a public restroom that is surprisingly clean and even has a Western toilet.  You must be able to tell by now that Western toilets are hard to come by in China, as I get excited every time I find one!  At the shops, I buy a bottle of water and a painting of a Zhuang woman carrying baskets through a tropical forest on black fabric.  I also find this cute little baby in a stroller and I wonder how on earth someone has gotten the baby uphill in this stroller, as there are so many steps and no cars can drive in the village or up these trails.

a little baby along the path

a little baby along the path

Somewhere along this path is the Seven Stars with Moon lookout, but I’m not really sure exactly where it is as I don’t see a sign.  I have seen signs TO the viewpoint but I haven’t seen any AT the viewpoint.  According to China Highlights.com, “Seven Stars around the Moon” is formed from eight small piles standing separately in the middle of eight rice paddies. The middle pile, filled with water, looks like a bright moon while the others are compared to seven stars.

Seven Stars with the Moon

Seven Stars with the Moon

Me at Seven Stars with Moon

Me at Seven Stars with Moon

Walking downhill from Seven Stars with Moon

Walking downhill from Seven Stars with Moon

Returning to Ping'An

Returning to Ping’An

>

Parking & Seven Stars with Moon

After we leave this lookout, we are heading down steps back into the village, and we pass a lot of shops selling handicrafts along the way.  I’m not in the market to buy anything today as I just want to get back to rest.

My guide stops to talk to this Zhuang lady who is selling some peppers or some kind of food along the walkway.  The lady’s lower gums seem to be detached from her lower jaw; I can see this when she talks.  Although she doesn’t look it in this picture, she seems very happy despite this problem.  She chats quite animatedly with my guide.

another Zhuang lady

another Zhuang lady in Ping’An Village

Then we’re back in the village where I see cute shops and some interesting sights.

back to the village of Ping'An

back to the village of Ping’An

Clothing, corn and characters

Clothing, corn and characters

Village door

Village door

cafes in the village

cafes in the village

We stop for a chat with this lady who also asks for some money for me and the guide if I want to take a picture of her.

my Zhuang guide's friend

my Zhuang guide’s friend

my guide and her friend

my guide and her friend

We have a seat at a lookout where we can see the pretty village below us.

the Zhuang village of Ping'An

the Zhuang village of Ping’An

my guide and me :-)

my guide and me 🙂

interesting wooden buildings in Ping'An

interesting wooden buildings in Ping’An

Finally, it’s about 12:15, and we return toward the hotel.  I see some cooking going on in the streets, and people washing vegetables in a stream.  I also see this foot massage place which I note, but when I try to find it later, I’m unable to do so.

the winding walkways in Ping'An

the winding walkways in Ping’An

sedan chairs - used for tourists who don't want to walk up the hills

sedan chairs – used for tourists who don’t want to walk up the hills

Meiyou Cafe

Meiyou Cafe

It’s lunchtime but my stomach and back are still hurting and all I want to do is lie down.  I go to my room, where I take a long nap.  It feels good to burrow under the covers and sleep for a couple of hours.

When I wake up around 3:30, I’m still hurting but I’m feeling hungry, so I go back out to explore a bit of the town and search for a restaurant that had looked appealing along the way.

Pretty pavilion in the town

Pretty pavilion in the town

sticks & stones

sticks & stones

drying corn

drying corn

the village of Ping'An from below

the village of Ping’An from below

9 dragons & 5 tigers OR 7 stars with moon

9 dragons & 5 tigers OR 7 stars with moon

Things that used to be things??

Things that used to be things??

Ping'An Zhuang Village

Ping’An Zhuang Village

Beer bottles as art

Beer bottles as art

When I find the restaurant, I order some “stir-fried vegetables,” which turn out to be cabbage and onions, and some rice.

the restaurant where I ate a late lunch of "stir-fried vegetables" and had to rush back to the hotel....

the restaurant where I ate a late lunch of “stir-fried vegetables” and had to rush back to the hotel….

As soon as I finish my meal, I suddenly feel my stomach about to give way, so I pay my bill and head downhill quickly to my hotel. I barely make it back to my room!  Oh my gosh, what a pain to feel so sick while traveling!  I lie down again and nap for the rest of the afternoon and early evening.

Later in the evening, I think I might be able to handle just some toast and some hot water.  While sitting in the dining room of the hostel, I meet a retired doctor named Ron Perrier who is traveling around the world and is in China for stint.  He is also a fellow blogger and here’s his blog: only where you have walked have you been.  He asks me about my health problems and makes a few guesses about what it might mean that I have both stomach problems and a back ache.  We have quite a long chat and he gives me some Ibuprofen to help me with my pain.  Even though I feel horrible, I enjoy meeting this fellow traveler and sharing some cultural observations.  We talk about spitting in Chinese society.  He says he has found that spitting to the Chinese is just like the vomiting impulse to us as Westerners.  The Chinese feel if they get the urge to spit, they must get rid of the phlegm as soon as possible, just as we do if we feel the urge to vomit.  We Westerners have learned to swallow our spit and we don’t feel it’s acceptable to go around spitting on the street, but that’s not the case with the Chinese.  We talk about many other interesting topics and observations, but if you’d like to see more on his take on life and travel, I suggest you visit his blog. 🙂

I go back to my room where I take the Ibuprofen and read the current book on my Kindle: Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford.  I sleep and sleep and sleep, hoping to feel better in the morning so I can hike to Longji Ancient Village and the rice terraces there.

 

 

Categories: Asia, China, Expat life, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Longji Rice Terraces, Longsheng County, Ping'An Village, Seven Stars with Moon, Travel, Zhuang people | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “a walk to “seven stars with moon” & return to ping’an

  1. I noticed the car hire sign, now that would be a challenge!

    Like

  2. Walking those hills with a backache and unhappy stomach? Determination! Fortuitous that you met a doctor. Tell me you felt better when you woke the next day.

    Like

    • I did feel better, Carol. Thanks! It’s probably because that doctor gave me 5 Ibuprofen and told me to take all of them. I normally never take any kind of pain medication, and never that many! But it did do the trick!! 🙂

      Like

  3. You must have been in agony by the end of that long walk, and climbing up and down those steep terraces. I hope your health problems right themselves soon. Wonderful photos, Cathy. The sedan chair looks like an easier option, but I’d be afraid they might drop me.

    Like

    • Haha, believe me, Sylvia, on the day I had the back pain, that sedan chair looked like a mighty fine option!! It still makes me think of British ladies in India during the days of the Raj. And yes, I would be afraid someone would drop me, or toss me overboard. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What interesting landscape, Cathy. These rice terraces are something. Wish you felt better and that all symptoms are gone. Your guide looks like the sweetest, happiest woman.

    Like

    • Lynne, it was such an interesting landscape. I really loved my trip to this place. It may be my favorite, even above Yangshuo, which I also loved. I just wish I hadn’t been so sick. I hope to go back in the spring/ early summer when everything is green, and I hope to feel good at that time. 🙂

      Like

  5. Oh- I’ve read that book, Cathy 🙂 I liked it!
    Serves me right for going backwards- you have explained some of the details I queried. Love the view from Seven Stars to Ping’yan village, and those Autumn flowers look a bit like irises?

    You must be infectious! I’ve got a bad back and dodgy stomache! I was just deciding between Paracetamol and Ibruprofen 🙂 Guess I should go along with the doctor. I think I have very mild food poisoning 🙂 Oh, joy!

    Like

    • I may have gotten the idea for that book from you, Jo. I get notifications from Goodreads of books you read or added, and then I check them out and decide if I think they’d be good. I’m not very far into it yet, but I’m enjoying it so far.

      I sure hope by now you’re over your dodgy stomach and bad back. I wonder if some kind of virus is sweeping the world (besides Ebola of course!). The Ibuprofen helped my back but not my stomach. I had that problem the entire trip. I wonder if I had mild food poisoning too. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renatemarie.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

Travel Much?

Never cease to explore and tell!

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

