massages and a day of rest :-)

Thursday, January 29: This morning, we both wake up feeling sicker than ever.  Out the window, we can see it is raining heavily.  Besides that, Mike was kept awake all night by a bunch of Chinese people having a barbecue on the street outside of our window.  Apparently they were talking, laughing and partying until the wee hours.  I was oblivious to the whole affair as I can sleep though any noise, including my own snoring.  🙂

Because of his awful night of sleep, and being sick on top of that, Mike is feeling pretty grumpy, which is unusual for him.  I am too, but at least I have more holiday after he leaves.  I already know my whole holiday will not be ruined by bad weather, as the forecast for Yunnan province is for sunny skies and in the 60s (F) and Myanmar’s is for hot weather (90s) and sunshine every day.  I feel so bad for Mike that we are near the end of our time together, and the weather forecast is for nothing good ahead.  Even if we were to stay 10 more days in Yangshuo, the forecast would still be for continual rain and cold.

Mike has been an extremely good sport about the whole thing.  I have not been such a good sport because I wanted him to see the best of China.  I had a great time in Yangshuo in October, and I wanted him to have the same experience.  Because of his demanding work schedule, this will probably be his only holiday this year, and it’s been ruined.  He has tried to put a positive spin on it, enjoying it for the cultural experience it has been.  Meanwhile, I have felt sad, angry, frustrated, and irritated.  Besides the fact that his vacation has been ruined, mine has too!  I haven’t been able to take any decent photos or to do the activities, such as hiking and bicycling, that I hoped to do.

Mike asks the hotel staff if we can change rooms and move away from the street.  He doesn’t want to suffer through another night of no sleep.  So we pack up our stuff and move to another room, one that has a little alcove with a tea table in it.  It’s kind of cute.

After moving, we go out for breakfast at the Rosewood Cafe and then go for hour-long whole body massages.  We return to the hotel room and put on our pajamas.  We stay in the rest of the day, reading, sleeping, snacking and talking.

Mike in our new hotel room, in his pajamas. :-)

Mike in our new hotel room, in his pajamas. 🙂

During this time, as we can see the forecast is for more of the same in Yangshuo, we decide we will leave Yangshuo one day early and return to Guilin. We’ll lose the money for our hotel in Yangshuo for one night, but as it was cheap, only $35, we don’t care.  We book a room back at the Guilinyi Royal Palace for Friday night, so we can have all of our creature comforts.  We must catch a train from Guilin to Nanning on Saturday morning, so we can have a more leisurely time by going to Guilin a day early.

The only time we leave the room is in the evening, when the rain has abated a bit, to eat a Chinese dinner at Cloud 9.

 

Categories: Asia, China, Cloud 9 Restaurant, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Guilin, Rosewood Cafe, Travel, Yangshuo, Yangshuo River View Hotel | Tags: , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “massages and a day of rest :-)

  1. Cold and wet but how is the stomach these days?

    Like

    • I haven’t had many stomach issues these days, Jude, thank goodness. But I’m very careful where and what I eat these days. I just hope I can survive the food for 4 more months. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Damn weather, Kat. I’m sorry it’s not sunny for you. Yesterday in Kathmandu was cold and the wind howled. It went with my mood and sadness at having to leave Flocky and the family today.

    Like

    • Yes, that what I thought too, Dai. That weather made our vacation very unpleasant. I’m sure having bad weather when you left made you feel extra sad. It does seem to exaggerate our moods, doesn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t left yet Kay. We’ll be leaving about 5 pm today unless I suddenly drasticate the situation.
        I just don’t want to go I guess but I should go. Will you be teaching today ?

        Like

      • Oh, I thought you’d left. Bon voyage, Dai.

        Yes, I will teach today. I have classes from 10:30-12 and again from 2:40-4:10. I really like the late start on Mondays, but I don’t like the split day. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. How frustrating with rain! Poor Mike looks like he can hardly fit by that table. He’s just so much taller than the normal Chinese.

    Nancy

    Like

    • That table was in a little alcove and was very short, Nancy. I think it’s meant to be sat at on a pillow like that. He is much taller than most Chinese though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a big disappointment for you both, but a rest day and time to talk would be a day well spent.

    Like

    • Yes, Pauline, we did really enjoy our day. I am always so much on the go on my holidays, that it was nice to be forced to truly relax. I think it did help me recover more quickly from my bad cold. 🙂

      Like

  5. That’s a lovely photo of Mike, Cathy. 🙂 What a nice guy he is!
    Working backwards as usual! Off to t’ai chi now 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Megadiverse Piedmont

Farming an acre in the Upper Wolf Island Creek subwatershed in the Roanoke River basin.

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

John SterVens' Tales

Thee Life, Thee Heart, Thee Tears

Set SerenDestiny in Motion

"Lead the Life You're Meant to Live"

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

