arrival in dali & a stroll around town

Tuesday, February 10:  At Cato’s Inn in Shaxi, we have our breakfast at the hotel’s detached cafe down the lane.  Afterwards, I print out some of my confirmations for my Myanmar flights and hotels, because I never had time to do it before I left Nanning.  Luckily, Cato’s Inn has a laid-back vibe, and Nancy and Cato are happy to accommodate me.  It’s something that’s been worrying me, so I’m glad to get it done so I can relax.

We don’t get underway until 10:45 a.m. to head to Dali. Cato carries our bags to the bus station on a bicycle cart.  The 45-minute bus ride to Jianchuan is just as winding and bumpy as it was two days ago, but luckily Alex is busily engaged with some of the Chinese passengers and somehow avoids getting motion sickness.  An 18-year-old young man tells us, in decent English, of his dream to study in the U.S. and build robots with his hands.  He’s waiting for offers from U.S. colleges.  He’s from Shenzhen, near Hong Kong, and, like Alex, is traveling with his mother.

Another Chinese young man also chats with Alex about school, getting a driver’s license, the drinking and smoking age in the U.S. and other things young people are concerned about.

At noon in Jianchuan, we get on the bus (36 yuan each).  The driver tells us we’ll arrive in Dali at 2:00, but we don’t get on the expressway until 12:40 and the driver is poking along at a very slow 60-80 km/hour.  It’s 126 km to Dali, so we won’t get there at 2:00.

During our drive I start getting phone calls from our hotel in Dali wondering when we will arrive.  The young lady on the phone tells us it will be difficult to find our hotel, so they want to meet us when the bus arrives.  There is some confusion as to where the bus will stop, but I hand my phone to the bus driver to sort it out.  When we get off the bus, a girl and her mother are waiting in the parking lot to drive us to our hotel, Dali Mountain Delights.  It turns out the hotel is outside of the old town, and I’m a little disappointed as I usually try to book hotels right in the thick of things.  Luckily, it’s not a long walk to Dali’s Old Town.

At the hotel, the girl introduces us to her new puppy, a Border Collie named Dali.  She’s thrilled to have Alex meet the dog, and Alex tells her about our Border Collie, Bailey, who died last summer.  After we put our things into our room, we head out to grab a late lunch in Dali.

We head into town through the Cangshan Gate and follow the directions to the food street.

Dali's West Gate

Dali’s Canghsan Gate

Dali is considered by many to be a haven for cool Chinese tourists and foreign backpackers; Lonely Planet China calls it “China’s closest approximation to bohemia.”  The town is only about four square kilometers, much of which is contained within the remains of its Ming-dynasty walls.

Vegetable cart in Dali

Vegetable cart in Dali

We head for the Western food street, and grab a seat outside at the Yunnan Cafe Bar.

Alex at Yunnan Cafe Bar

Alex at Yunnan Cafe Bar

Our view from the Cafe

Our view from the Cafe

I have a delicious baked potato stuffed with mushrooms, garlic and cheese, and Alex and I share a bunch of French fries.  After this filling lunch, I’m all potatoed out.

Alex again at Yunnan Cafe Bar

Alex again at Yunnan Cafe Bar

We take a walk through the streets, where we notice the green domes of a mosque, unusual in China.

Mosque dome in Dali

Mosque dome in Dali

All through Lijiang, and now here in Dali, there are music stores selling drums, miniature guitars and CDs that look like old 45s.  In all of the stores, there is a mellow local Lijiang song playing; I don’t think the song has an English name and of course I don’t know the Chinese name.  However, I love the song, and soon have it playing inside my head.

Music store, where the Lijiang famous song is always playing

Music store, where the Lijiang famous song is always playing

There seem to be a lot of fruit juice stands in Dali, and Alex stops to have some fresh pomegranate juice made by this man.  I have him make me a bottle too.  It’s wonderfully refreshing.

the pomegranate juice man

the pomegranate juice man

pomegranates

pomegranates

Of course the locals are out with their vegetables for sale.

vegetables for sale

vegetables for sale

vegetable market on Dali's streets

vegetable market on Dali’s streets

Streets of Dali

Streets of Dali

police mobile

police mobile

fortune tellers

some interesting things are going on!

Dali streets

Dali streets

Later, Alex stops for another fruit juice, this time a pomegranate and kiwi juice that he doesn’t find nearly as tasty as the plain pomegranate juice.

the hippie culture

the hippie culture

We continue to walk around the streets until we come to a foot massage place we’d seen earlier.  Alex has never had a foot massage in his life, and I am ready to be pampered a bit after all our travels.  We go inside and soak our feet only to realize shortly that our two masseuses are deaf and dumb.  One of them is really friendly and smiley. My lively masseuse notices the red scrape on my calf from my bicycle accident. He points at the scrape and then holds up 10 fingers; one by one, he folds them into his palm.  Then he motions as if to wipe away the scrape.  He does this several times and we laugh, knowing he’s right.  Though the scrape looks bad now, it will be gone in 10 days.

He calls it correctly, as the scrape does in fact vanish 10 days after my accident.

another gate

another gate

Alex orders a pomegranate and Kiwi juice

Alex orders a pomegranate and Kiwi juice

a bicycle built for 1 1/2?

a bicycle built for 1 1/2?

textiles in Dali

textiles in Dali

street art in Dali

street art in Dali

Dali architecture

Dali architecture

Another gate to the old town

The Cangshan Gate again

After our foot massages, we go back to the hotel to relax for a bit.  Since we ate a late lunch, neither of us is hungry.  When we go back into town, we decide we’ll look for a place we saw earlier that serves fresh mango desserts.  We walk up and down the street looking for the place, but we miss it on our first pass through.  We walk all the way to the end and then turn around to retrace our steps.  It turns out we find it not far from where we ate lunch and had our foot massages.  In this cozy place, we eat fresh mango with ice cream and tapioca balls.  Delicious!

the mango dessert place

the mango dessert place

Categories: Asia, China, Dali, Dali Mountain Delights, Travel, Yunnan Cafe Bar, Yunnan Province | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “arrival in dali & a stroll around town

  1. This looks like a fun village to visit – where there is a foot massage, all is good.

    Like

  2. Are you really going to Myanmar? Once again, I envy you – Dali, wherever you go, you always find the interesting things, and it’s a pleasure to take a vicarious trip. Wasn’t it nice to see your son interacting with locals his age? I bet it was! Love the vegetables at the market – such precision in the display. The foot massage story was lovely, and I’m impressed by your finessing the bus drop off and hotel pick up.

    Like

    • Hi Lynn, I’m posting all of this after the fact, so yes, I did go to Myanmar for the last two weeks of February. It was fantastic! I loved it so much. I really can’t wait to start posting about it, but I’m trying to do things in an orderly fashion.

      It was great to have my son along to experience Chinese culture and to interact with the locals. The foot massage was fun, and I always feel a great sense of accomplishment when achieving successful travel in China! It’s always a challenge. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Like

  3. Once again I feel as though I have been in this town with you, because your photos capture the place so well. 🙂 I like the idea of the foot massage after all the walking! 🙂

    Like

  4. So much color, art, and fresh produce! Also, this time, you had nice weather and little pollution, it appears.

    Like

    • Yes, Annette, all the towns in Yunnan were very colorful, and Alex and I were lucky to have great weather (and no pollution!) for the entire two weeks we were in Yunnan province. I loved it there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never had a foot massage either, I think I’d giggle too much as my feet are ticklish 🙂
    I quite fancy the mango and ice-cream too… 🙂

    Like

  6. I have so much trouble deciding what pictures I like the best in each of your blog posts! The pomegranates and vegetables, along with the street art might be it this time. But it’s all interesting.

    Nancy

    Like

  7. What a lively good-looking place, Cathy! I enjoyed all the colours and shapes 🙂
    Now, no more getting sick! It must be all the travelling wearing you down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

A Faraway Home

Stories and tips from home and far away

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renateflynn.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

Travel Much?

Never cease to explore and tell!

