an afternoon stroll around nanhu lake park

Saturday, March 21:  It’s tough to find a good weather day in Nanning.  It’s either cold and damp, hot and damp, or just generally overcast and damp.  I think I could count on one hand the number of dry blue sky days, where the air is crisp and clear and comfortable, in the whole year I’ve been here.  If I waited for good weather to go out, I’d stay in my apartment all the time.  I do stay in a lot, in fact.

I’d written on my calendar to visit Nanhu Lake Park on this March day.   It’s another cloudy day, but, as there is no rain in the forecast, I figure I’d better give it a go anyway. I was told by my students to take bus #8 from the university and take it all the way to the end.  This takes me about an hour.  I arrive to find a karst landscape relief sculpture on the entry gate peeking out from behind the dangling branches of a red-flowering tree.

Entrance to Nanhu Lake Park

Entrance to Nanhu Lake Park

I get my first glimpse of the Nanning skyline through the haze.  Barely.

Nanning Skyline

Nanning Skyline

The arched bridge over the lake has delicate metal sculptures placed all along the railings.

Views from the bridge

Views from the bridge

views from the bridge

views from the bridge

What a lovely day for a boat ride!

Nanning skyline

Nanning skyline

Curvy bridge

Curvy bridge

On the other side of the bridge, official looking boats are lined up neatly at the dock.

boat dock

boat dock

In a central square, I find this statue, which seems to commemorate some revolutionary victory.

statue of some famous people :-)

statue of some famous people 🙂

I make my way though a shaded magical forest.  I love the trunks of the gnarly trees.

walkway through the trees

walkway through the trees

trees & grasses

trees & grasses

tree-line pathway

tree-lined pathway

The constant moisture in Nanning encourages the growth of a plethora of tropical foliage.

purple and pink extravaganza

purple and pink extravaganza

tropical foliage

tropical foliage

I come upon a small bamboo forest and make my way through a path amidst the stalks.

a bamboo forest

a bamboo forest

And soon I find a pretty little pond with a stone turtle, a little bridge, rock sculptures and bonsai trees.

a turtle in a pond

a turtle in a pond

pretty pond

pretty pond

wise fellow

wise fellow

pond grasses

pond grasses

around the pond

around the pond

fern heaven

fern heaven

foliage around the pond

foliage around the pond

I love the rough weathered bark on these trees juxtaposed against the green and purple ground cover.

pretty spot

pretty spot

As I continue my stroll, I find another little pond, not as pretty as the first, with a pavilion you can walk across.

another pond

another pond

I don’t know what’s happening in this sculpture, but maybe it’s some noisy family antics.

statue in nanny lake park

statue in nanny lake park

not so loud!

not so loud!

Another section of the park has a display of bonsai trees.

the bonsai garden

the bonsai garden

After a long walk along the south side of the lake, I look back and see the bridge I crossed earlier.

the bridge in the park with Nanning behind

the bridge in the park with Nanning behind

Crossing back over the bridge, I can see the palm-lined walkway to the bridge.

tree-lined walkway

tree-lined walkway

There are some pretty flowers along the north side of the lake.

yellow pretties

yellow pretties

palm tree oasis

palm tree oasis

bottle brush

bottle brush

a burst of red

a burst of red

golden flowers

golden flowers

fuzzy gold

fuzzy gold

The view over Nanhu Lake to the bridge and beyond

The view over Nanhu Lake to the bridge and beyond

view of Nanhu Lake

view of Nanhu Lake

I had mentioned to some of my students that I wanted to see the movie Taken 3 with Liam Neeson this afternoon.  My student Albert texts me on WeChat to arrange the time. I tell him I’m at Nanhu Park and will be home before long.  When I arrive back at the university front gate, I go to Starbucks for a coffee and a sandwich.  After this, I meet Albert, Leo, Stone and one other student who used to be in my class but is no longer; I’ve forgotten his name.  We all enjoy the movie together.  Overall, it was a slightly more fun weekend than most of the weekends when I’m stuck at home in Nanning. 🙂

Categories: Asia, China, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Nanhu Lake Park, Nanning | Tags: , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “an afternoon stroll around nanhu lake park

  1. looks like it turned out to be a nice day after all.

    Like

    • It was enjoyable, Carol, but the weather never improved. 🙂 Oh well, what can we do about that? Nothing but accept it, or stay indoors.

      Like

  2. Shame about the weather, Cathy, but we can’t do a darn thing about it! 🙂 We’ve had more clouds than sunshine here lately and after warm Warsaw that’s why I’ve got the snivels. It ruins your photos though, doesn’t it? Except for the close ups. I love those golden fuzzies and the railings are pretty too.
    I’m all at sea, Cathy! No idea where to start in your posts 🙂 🙂 Lost in a blog! (better than fog 🙂 )

    Like

    • I know Jo. Weather really affects us, doesn’t it, but you’re right. There’s nothing we can do about it except either stay inside, or just learn to accept it. Or change our plans to mesh with the weather. It does tend to make the photos rather drab, so that’s always disappointing.

      I know, my blogs are all out of order because I have so many to catch up on, plus current ones to write. I always rearrange them by date later, but at the time, they seem all a-jumble! Hope you’re enjoying your Sunday. It’s almost over for me!

      Like

  3. Nanning in the haze looks depressing to me. I would much prefer a picturesque village. Your students treat you more as a friend than a teacher. I like that, Kat

    Like

    • Hi Dai, it’s depressing to me too! I like small villages much better too, like the ones I visited in Yunnan. Even Kunming is a much nicer city than Nanning. Some of my students do sometimes treat me like a friend, but not always. I’m always surprised when they do! 🙂

      Like

  4. Nanning is not very appealing, but once you get inside the park it is all very different and you can forget about the haze. Some beautiful flowers there Cathy, I do like the way you have captured the bottle brush and the bridge. Nicely framed. Only a couple of months left Cathy and you will be back exploring the US of A 😀

    Like

    • You’re right that Nanning is not very appealing, Jude. So many nicer cities in China, including Kunming, Xi’an, Hong Kong, Shanghai, even Beijing. And I’m sure there are more, but Nanning isn’t one of them. I’m glad you at least liked my flowers. Less than two months, now. Am heading on a work retreat this morning, so I better get off the computer and start getting ready. Have a good weekend, Jude!

      Like

  5. I loved the ironwork on that bridge and the big statutes! That one view through the park – the very first one, right after the revolution celebration – reminds me of Battery Park in Charleston.

    I can’t find any good images in my blog or Tina Schell (a blogging friend who lives near Charleston). This is from Google images.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=battery+park+charleston&biw=1920&bih=955&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=zxtZVaOkKcmMNpvMgbAH&sqi=2&ved=0CD0QsAQ&dpr=1

    I so enjoy seeing what you’re seeing. Thanks again!

    Nancy

    Like

    • I liked the ironwork on that bridge too, Nancy. Wow, those Battery Park images do look much like my image from Nanhu Lake Park. So funny, isn’t it? Such a small world. 🙂 Thanks for visiting. I’m happy to share and happy to have you come along. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What a beautiful park – so many lovely details and hide-away nooks.

    Like

  7. I don’t mind the haze and grey skies. That is part of life wherever we go when we are lucky to have different kinds of weather. It has always bothered me and it is a shame people can be so subjective when it comes to deciding what constitutes a “nice” day. I personally find rainy days to be the “nicest” days, and sunny, hot days are to me, “not nice weather”. You can imagine Cathy that the relentless sun and heat of Oman nearly killed (as that country did in general health-wise!).

    But for taking photos, I know you appreciate a clear day with unobstructed views to share! I personally would not mind if you occasionally posted photos of what some of these views “are supposed to look like” in clear weather, whether or not you took the photo. I think that would help us see what you see.

    Within fewer weeks than you have fingers and thumbs, however, I know you are excited because you will be back home, to a different sort of hot and damp and muggy and uncomfortable!

    x

    Like

    • Mona Lisa, as a photographer, you know I’m always looking for either blue skies, or dramatic skies; haze is neither, and I never care for the photos I take in those conditions. I guess everyone has their preferences as far as weather. I’m usually happiest when the skies are blue and the temps are around 60-75 degrees. I didn’t care for Oman’s intense heat, but I did enjoy the blue skies and the dry air. I actually prefer cold weather to hot, as you know, so living here has been no picnic. I wonder about Egypt, whether I could really take it, as I’ve been there in both July and February and found it miserably hot and humid both times.
      As far as posting pictures I didn’t take, I no longer dare to do that. I had WordPress take down two photos I got from the internet and put on my blog; they threatened to close my entire blog. I have since removed every picture I didn’t take myself, and I never dare to post anything that’s not mine any more.
      I don’t look forward to returning to Virginia’s hot and humid summer, but it will be no different from here, so I guess I’ll be used to it. At least in Virginia, I know it will end and fall will be around the corner. I can’t wait for that!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. What a pretty park. Your photos really capture the lush green-ness of it. I like the bridge, and the palm lined approach to it.

    Like

    • Thanks, Elaine. It was a fairly pretty park, but not the best in Nanning. I did like that bridge and palm-lined approach though! 🙂

      Like

  9. Walking in that lovely park would clear my mind Cathy, it is beautiful. Love the detail of the tree trunks. Is that haze just the weather or is it pollution?

    Like

    • I’m glad you like the park, Pauline. I found it a little unkempt, but it did have some pretty parts to it. I did like that little pond and those tree trunks. You know, I have never figured out if the haze is the weather or pollution. It is very damp here; you can feel it the minute you walk out the door, and my tendency is to think it’s moisture in the air rather than pollution. But I can’t say for sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Living in Paradise...

Life always gives you a second chance, it is called TOMORROW....

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

John SterVens' Tales

Thee Life, Thee Heart, Thee Tears

Set SerenDestiny in Motion

"Lead the Life You're Meant to Live"

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

