the bell tower in the heart of xi’an

Saturday, April 18:  Following my long day of exploring a rainy Xi’an and having a rest in my room at Fortune Suites, I head out to look for something to eat.  My stomach has been seriously messed up ever since I ate the Indian food this afternoon, so I don’t dare venture far. I’m still hungry even though I don’t feel good, and I’m hoping whatever I can find will sit well with me.  My hotel is luckily right in the heart of the old city, marked by the Bell Tower, which sits at the crossroads of the four major streets of the city.

Luckily, in the area surrounding the Bell Tower are a number of Western restaurants.  I see a Pizza Hut, which is surprisingly popular in China, so I head there for my favorite fried shrimp meal, which is really just an appetizer portion.  I think that will take care of me tonight.

Bell Tower in Xi'an

Bell Tower in Xi’an

The Bell Tower was originally built two blocks west of here in 1384 during the early Ming dynasty. It contains several large bronze-cast bells from the Tang dynasty.  The present structure was built in 1582 and restored in 1739.  This colorful triple-eaved wooden structure built on a brick platform is lit up tastefully and provides a beacon for people trying to get their bearings in the city (Lonely Planet China & Wikipedia: Bell Tower of Xi’an).

Bell Tower in Xi'an

Bell Tower in Xi’an

It’s quite a busy spot as it’s in the center of a roundabout that is at the crossroads of the four major streets in Xi’an.  You can get to it by way of a tunnel which also leads to the subway.

City streets around Xi'an's Bell Tower

City streets around Xi’an’s Bell Tower

Bell Tower in Xi'an

Bell Tower in Xi’an

Just west of the Bell Tower is the Drum Tower.  I will visit both of these the day after tomorrow.

Bell Tower, with the Drum Tower in the distance

Bell Tower, with the Drum Tower in the distance

After my dinner, accompanied by a German beer, I head back to the hotel, where once again, though free wi-fi is advertised, I have to use wi-fi in the lobby as it doesn’t work in my room.  It seems I’m encountering this problem too many times in China.  Tomorrow, I’m going with a guide and a small group of tourists to see the Terra Cotta Warriors and a few other sites outside the city. 🙂

Categories: Asia, Bell Tower, China, Fortune Suites, Shaanxi, Travel, Xi'an | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “the bell tower in the heart of xi’an

  1. Really good night photography Cathy!

    Like

  2. It looks beautiful lit up against the night sky.

    Like

  3. Very pretty all lit up but the surrounds tell a different story. Lovely shots, Cathy! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade.wordpress.com/

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renateflynn.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

