a foggy morning on beibu gulf, a ferry ride to weizhou island & a visit to saint maria church

Sunday, June 7:  I wake up early to a dreary morning and I worry that the ferry to Weizhou Island will be canceled.  The island is located 21 nautical miles south of Beihai City in the Gulf of Tonkin, an arm of the South China Sea.  The ferry was canceled yesterday because of inclement weather, so I expect it may be the same today.  That would be a disappointment, as I don’t have much time left in China and this is my last opportunity to see it.

Yesterday, Mari and her driver and I dropped by the ferry terminal to check on today’s ferry.  There was a helpful guy working in the terminal who could speak excellent English.  He gave me his phone number, so this morning I call him to check on the status.  He tells me the ferry is still planning to go to the island and he gives me instructions on how to get the ticket he’s reserved for me.

I pack up all my stuff and, after having breakfast at Mari’s apartment, I leave, locking the door behind me.  I head to the garage where her driver is waiting for me, right on time.  I load my stuff into the trunk of his car, as he’ll drive me directly back to Nanning when he picks me up at the ferry terminal later this afternoon.

The driver takes me to the ferry terminal, where I get the ticket the nice guy reserved for me, and line up to board the ferry.  I’m a little worried because I wanted round trip tickets; however, he was unable to get my return ticket from the Beihai end.  I’m told I have to get the return ticket on Weizhou.  This stresses me out as there are so many people going to the island, I’m afraid I won’t be able to get a return ticket.  I have to work tomorrow and Mari’s driver will be waiting for me, so I don’t want to get stuck on the island.

According to China Travel.com: Weizhou Island has an area of 36 square kilometers. It extends for 6.5 kilometers from south to north and is 6 kilometers wide. The circling-island road, which connects scenic spots, villages, and ports is 15.6 kilometers long.  According to WikiTravel: Weizhou is China’s biggest and youngest volcanic island. Formed by volcanic eruptions about 7,000 years ago, it has a unique geological and geomorphological landscape. The sea around Weizhou is rich in corals and other aquatic animals.

The seas are quite rough this morning and the ferry ride is longer than the promised hour.  On this uncomfortable ride, people are vomiting into bags all around me.  Thank goodness I don’t get sick myself.

Once I’m on the island, I climb off the ferry with the hundreds of other passengers and go down a long walkway to look for someone to transport me around the island.  Before I do, I stop at the ticket booth and buy my return ticket to Beihai for 3:00.  They tell me I need to be at the dock by 2:00 to catch the ferry.  That doesn’t give me much time, as it’s nearly 11:00 a.m. now.

the dock at Weizhou Island

the dock at Weizhou Island

Weizhou Island

Weizhou Island

Weizhou Island

Weizhou Island

the view from Weizhou Island

the view from Weizhou Island

At the end of the walkway, there are scores of people on motor tricycles and taxis trying to drum up business.  One woman follows me all the way from the walkway to the parking lot, gabbing in Chinese the whole time.  I end up taking a ride from another guy just because she is so annoying.  His charge is quite high, 100 yuan for the day (11:00 am-3:00 pm).  I’ve already spent a lot of money, as it costs 180 yuan EACH way for the ferry, plus an entrance fee to get onto the island of 100 yuan. Even though I’ve been lucky enough to stay at Mari’s house for the weekend, and I’ve had her driver readily available, I still am spending a lot on food, pearls ( 🙂 ), and this trip to Weizhou.

Our first stop is Saint Maria Church, a small Gothic-style Catholic Church in Chengzai village. It is less famous than the Catholic Cathedral in the middle of Shengtang Village, but still opens its doors for Sunday Mass.

Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church

the grounds at Saint Maria Church

the grounds at Saint Maria Church

inside Saint Maria Church

inside Saint Maria Church

Interior of Saint Maria Church

Interior of Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church interior

Saint Maria Church interior

An auxiliary building at Saint Maria

An auxiliary building at Saint Maria

Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church

I enjoy walking around the grounds and through the church, and chatting with the friendly fruit vendors.  I find it refreshing to find this church in China, only the second I’ve seen since the one I saw in Beihai’s Old City.  I have seen Buddhist temples throughout China, but I’ve never seen churches outside of this part of Guangxi province.

Fruit vendors at Saint Maria Church

Fruit vendors at Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church from the road

Saint Maria Church from the road

looking in through the gate to Saint Maria Church

looking in through the gate to Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church

Saint Maria Church

close up from the road of the church

close up from the road of the church

After walking around the church and the grounds, I return to the small parking lot and hop into my motor tricycle, wondering where my driver will take me next. 🙂

Categories: Asia, Beibu Gulf, Beihai, China, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Saint Maria Church, Travel, Weizhou Island | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “a foggy morning on beibu gulf, a ferry ride to weizhou island & a visit to saint maria church

  1. How funny to find what looks like an English church on an island in the south China sea!

    Like

  2. You’ve left us in suspense on this one, Kat

    Like

    • You can find what happened now, Dai, as I’ve finally finished posting about Weizhou. I’m still trying to finish up my China posts. I still have the rice terraces to do, and I have literally hundreds of pictures!

      Like

  3. The style of the church is completely unexpected – it is as though you have arrived in England! Now we have to wait to find out… did you manage to get the ferry home??

    Like

    • I did feel like this church looked like an English (or Portuguese) church, Elaine, and it was very strange to see it here on an island in the South China Sea! I did get the ferry home, thank goodness. I added something to my blog because I forgot to tell that I bought the return ticket as soon as I arrived in Weizhou!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade.wordpress.com/

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

Under a Cornish Sky

inspired by the colours of the land, sea and sky of Cornwall

sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/

A blog about expat life and travel adventures written by an Slovenian girl living in Switzerland

Let Me Bite That

Can I have a bite?

Running Stories by Jerry Lewis

Personal blog about running adventures

Finding NYC

exploring New York City one adventure at a time

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

renateflynn.wordpress.com/

A (Mostly) Solo Female Exploring the World

NYLON DAZE

From London to New York, living in an expat daze

